Spring Election Guide

In the Spring election, voters will choose the state superintendent of public instruction, local judges and municipal and school boards. The Democratic Party of Brown County does not make endorsements in nonpartisan races, but here are a few races we are watching.

On the top of their Spring Election ballot, voters will find the statewide race for Superintendent of Public Instruction. The Democratic Party of Wisconsin has endorsed Dr. Jill Underly for State Superintendent over Deb Kerr

At our February Assembly of the Democratic Party of Brown County, Rachel Maes for Brown County Judge spoke about her campaign to provide a fresh perspective to the local circuit court. It’s the first time her opponent Judge Kendall Kelley has had a challenger in close to two decades. The other two circuit court judicial races are uncontested.

For Court of Appeals, Rick Cveykus, who also spoke at our February meeting, is running against conservative Judge Greg Gill, who is funded by far-right national donors.

There is also a Special Election in the 89th Assembly District to fill the seat vacated by John Nygrun a few weeks after being elected. Karl Jaeger is running as the Democrat against Republican Elijah Behnke. We are proud to support Jaeger’s campaign and his vision for clean water, affordable healthcare, and rural broadband!

School Boards

We do not currently endorse in local elections, but we are certainly impressed by so many local candidates stepping up to lead. Here are a few races we are watching.

In the Green Bay School District race, there are four candidates running for two seats: Andrew Becker, Bryan Milz, Nancy Welch, and Rhonda Sitnikau.

In West De Pere, Jamie Kinjerski is running for School Board against Ryan Van Den Heuvel. And in East De Pere, incumbents Jeff Mirkes and Dan Van Straten are being challenged by Angela Hoisington and Chad Jeskewitz for De Pere Unified School District.

In Pulaski, local teacher unions have endorsed Megan Mills-Koehler over Dan Novak as well as Jeromy Delebreau in an unopposed race.

Municipal Boards

On the ballot alongside Karl Jaeger in Northern Brown County is Nick Bonafilia for Suamico Trustee running against Michelle Eckert and Dan Roddan. 

Alder Jonathon Hansen is up for re-election to De Pere City Council against Susan Netzel and John Quigley is running unopposed for Casey Nelson’s former seat. 

In Ledgeview, Sachin Shivaram and Jennifer Nowicki are running for two open seats on the town board against Alan Matzke and Al Cheslock. 

Steve Kabaki is also running unopposed for trustee in Ashwaubenon.

If your local race wasn’t listed, join our BC Dems Facebook group to discuss candidates with members.